Zebra Print Cake

Found this on Pinterest, what a clever idea from this mom, so I just thought I would pass it on……..Jerie

This weekend I made the COOLEST cake for my daughter’s 7th birthday!  The theme was hot pink and black zebra print…and my question to myself was how in the world was I going to incorporate that into her birthday cake?  Well, below is exactly how I did that!
1 box of Betty Crocker white cake mix
1 box of Betty Crocker chocolate fudge cake mix
3 cans of white icing
a small jar of “rose” colored (hot pink) gel icing to dye the icing
2 – 8″ round baking pans
We then went to work mixing the cake batters in separate bowls!
Once the batters were done, I took a 1/4 cup scoop of white batter and placed it in the center of one of the pans.
I then placed a 1/4 cup scoop of the chocolate batter in the center of the white batter.
I repeated the steps over until the pan was about 2/3 full, for each of the pans.  Each time I placed a scoop in the pan, I gently shook it to spread the batter.  Don’t worry if the batter starts to spread to one side of the pan, mine started to do this instead of staying in the middle of the pan…it’ll all work out 🙂
These are fairly new pans, only been used a few times, and I used Pam spray and have NEVER had a problem baking a cake in these pans…but for some reason, the odds were against me this time.  Probably because I was so confident and excited about this cake!…and it was super important to me because it was for Jocelyn’s party.  I highly recommend purchasing spray SPECIFICALLY made for baking!  If not, please please please grease your pans with shortening and lightly dust some flour in your pans!…because if you don’t, you risk the chances of this happening…..
I literally had a meltdown in my kitchen after this and had to walk away!  I had already spent hours baking and prepping for the party and done a million dishes and all I wanted was to finally be done.  WRONG!    So Jason, being the great guy he is, comforted me and ran to the store to get more supplies so I could start over.  Ugh.  When he returned, I gathered myself and got to work.  This time the cakes popped right out of the pans beautifully!
Below is the final product!  B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L!
